Unchained meter, the purpose of combos and other questions

Some questions I have since I started playing and didn't manage to find answers yet, sorry to put all this in the same topic but I didn't want to spam new threads.

First of all, the unchained meter is filled (from in game description) by doing combos. So I understand that combos are built up by using different traps / attack / abilities but it seems to me like filling the unchained meter the first time is faster than filling it a second time.
Is there something like "the more you activate unchain the harder it is the fill the bar" ?

Talking about combos, some things seem odd to me, if I understand correctly, combo generate more coins (and probably score). Is that all ? Do we get more exp for doing combo ?

Also, if I understand properly, using twice the same trap in a row doesn't increase the combo right ?

On an unrelated topic, is there any way to deal with fire elemental without them completely destroying barricades ? It seems like they are the only kind of enemy that I really have trouble dealing with.

I am currently somewhere between level 60 and 70 and I see a lot of people relying a lot on the grinder for high level survival, any particular reason behind this ?

That'll be all, thanks in advance for anyone's answer o/

Best Answer

Answers

• Unchained meter takes about twice as much every time used.

Combos increase coin and score.

No idea about same trap in a row.

Fire elementals just try to kill them far from the barricades.

Grinder is rather good because of it's damage. It's overall great trap but I prefer wall charger since it's got even more. The reason why you don't see any others is probably because they don't want to spend skulls on other traps since it's rather good as it is.
  • Unchained meter takes about twice as much every time used.
    That's what I thought... I guess it would be too spammable otherwise.
    Combos increase coin and score.
    No experience bonus then ?